Napa Marathon Mar 7 w/only 5 Training Runs

About 2 weeks ago I decided to enter the Napa Marathon on March 7, 2010.  I am doing this to prove the level of fitness EET’s workouts and timing guidelines can provide for a variety of activities.

Now that the date is only about 2 weeks away I have decided to share my efforts in real time with anyone who might be interested.

TRAINING STARTING POINT AND 4 WEEK MARATHON TRAINING PLAN.

Before February 8, I have not done a road run of ANY DISTANCE for nearly 10 years.  I have only done one trail run in the last 2 years, and have not run regularly for nearly 10 years.

All I am relying on to run this marathon is my 20-30 minutes of EET Fat Burning Interval training 5-6 times per week and A TOTAL OF 5 training runs, gradually increasing in distance.  I am also relying heavily on proper EATING TIMING to assist in muscle recovery and controlling my weight.

Here is my original journal entry with updates that have occurred to date.

Wish me and EET luck 🙂

Monday, February 8, 2010 (UPDATES THROUGH 2/17 IN CAPS)

The Napa Marathon March 7, 2010

Decided to enter it.

I successfully completed a marathon about 10 years ago and have been intrigued about my fitness now vs then as I weigh a lot less and I believe EET’s fat burning interval workouts get you a far higher degree of fitness than distance running — EVEN for distance running.

So I mentioned I might join my friends for the May Marathon if I put in a month or so of running 1-2 times per week to get my joints prepared for the long pounding of a marathon. I don’t feel I need any cardio work, that’s how strongly I feel about the fitness that the EET workouts bring.

Today I realized that there is a Napa Marathon in March and another friend of mine always runs that one. So I looked it up and, sure enough, it’s 4 weeks away from yesterday.

After NOT thinking about it for long, I decided to register and try to run it with the 1-2 runs per week, the same way I was going to (and might still) try the May marathon.

I hope to complete the marathon in a reasonable time to prove the quality of the fitness that EET can provide. I have NO IDEA if I can do this or not, I am going to list my training schedule here on this post and will update as I do these 5 preparation runs to see if I can do this.

Unless things go horribly on my training runs, I definitely plan to give it a try. At the least it should send the message to participants that it’s ok to shoot for difficult goals and not always make them — I will still get something out of it I’m sure, as long as I don’t die.

Plus, I have gone nearly 2 years without any sort of injury that has prevented me from keeping up with my EET workouts and other various activities–it would be meaningful to me to be able to work in a project like a marathon and avoid any sort of injury. It would show the strengthening of the joints and muscles and level of cardio fitness that come from proper interval training and eating and exercise timing to maximize recovery.

So here’s my proposed schedule (will use progressions just as I teach others)

WEEK OF FEB 8 2 TRAIL RUNS – One of 3 miles and one of 7 miles
I will make sure these have some hills to test endurance

RESULTS: 3-4 MILE RUN THIS WEEK ON TRAILS WAS EASY. WAS BARELY SORE THE NEXT DAY AND AS NOTED KEPT UP ON ALL EET TRAINING. BASED UPON SCHEDULE MOVED 2ND RUN OF WEEK TO FOLLOWING WEEK IN TUCSON

WEEK OF FEB 15 1 ROAD RUN — will join my buddy on his 14 mile run
while in arizona–will also be biking

RESULTS – SAT 2/13/2010 – 8.2 MILE ROAD RUN – THIS RUN WAS COMPLETED WITHOUT STOPPING AT A SOLID PACE. THERE WAS A VERY LARGE HILL WHICH I COMPLETED AND FELT GOOD SO I PUSHED MY PACE ON THE FLATS JUST AFTER. THIS WAS A MISTAKE AS THERE WAS STILL A LONG WAY TO GO AND I FINISHED THAT RUN IN MORE PAIN THAN I HAD TO. RECOVERY WAS STILL EXCELLENT.

THIS IS VERY ENCOURAGING SINCE I HAVE NOT RUN A ROAD RUN AT ANY LENGTH FOR NEARLY 10 YEARS SINCE THE LAST MARATHON.

One more interesting note on the 8.2 mile run. As you can see from day before’s entry, we had a LATE dinner at Cracker Barrel Restaurant. My meal consisted of probably the worst food imaginable to prepare for a long distance run (Chicken Fried chicken smothered in gravy, 3-4 biscuits with more gravy, chicken dumplings and fried okra, oh yeah a candy bar for dessert too). Certainly not the “expert recommended pre race meal”.

My friend had a similar meal and it bothered him during the run (he’s eats a more conventional healthy diet and is in GREAT running shape too), but I felt great.

I don’t recommend this “pre race meal” and I am not sure I will be repeating it (although it’s tempting). But, to me, this could be even more support to eat the foods you love using EET and this along with the other correct metabolic messages helps your metabolism use what it is given to help you achieve your fitness and weight loss goals.

YOU CAN CHECK JOURNAL TO SEE ADDITIONAL MOUNTAIN BIKING I HAVE DONE DURING THIS WEEK, PLUS HAVE KEPT UP ON EET INTERVALS AS WELL. AS JOURNAL SHOWS, EATING TONS OF SWEETS AND FATTENING FOODS WITH PRETTY GOOD TIMING — DON’T HAVE A SCALE IN TUCSON SO NOT SURE ABOUT MY WEIGHT BUT RECOVERY CONTINUES TO BE EXCELLENT.

THINGS ARE HOLDING UP VERY WELL FOR ME AT THIS POINT.


14.4 MILE ROAD RUN SCHEDULED FOR TOMORROW 2/18/2010 –

WILL POST UPDATE WHEN COMPLETED — GOOD OR BAD. BIKED 2-3 HOURS YESTERDAY AND WILL BE HIKING 2-3 HOURS TODAY IN TUCSON MOUNTAINS (PLUS LOTS OF SIGHTSEEING: TOMBSTONE, BISBEE, U of A, etc–THIS IS A VACATION AFTER ALL!) SO NOT PLANNING ON “RESTING UP” TO DO THIS–DO PLAN TO TAKE THE RUN SLOW THOUGH, AS SLOW AS NEEDED TO FINISH WITHOUT STOPPING. GUESS WE’LL SEE.

WEEK OF FEB 22 1 ROAD RUN – 21 miles –plan to redo the China camp route I ran
before the last marathon 10 years ago

WEEK OF FEB 28 1 TRAIL RUN – 10 miles with STEEP hills and 1-2 bike rides
definitely bald hill once and possibly china camp

MARCH 7 RACE 26.2 Miles — Goal to keep pace to finish under 4 hours.
(i did the one 10 years ago in around 3:50)

Sounds daunting as I type this but if my feet knees and ankles are up for it, I believe the strength and endurance will be there. We shall see. Will be great to properly time nutrition to see if it can aid in full recovery after these longer runs.

Worth a try.

Leave a Reply

