Mrs. and Sister EET’s Half Marathon Training Blog: Day 1

(click to enlarge)

Ben and Jerry paid a visit to Mrs. EET’s Day 1 Half Marathon Training’s Treat Meal —

(The Chocolate Cream Pie was Mr. EET’s) 🙂

EET’s Half Marathon Training Challenge Has Begun!  Here’s how  Training Run 1 of 7 for Mrs. EET and 1 of 15 for Sister EET went in their own words.    We’ll keep you posted.  Any questions or comments fire away!

Mrs. EET’s Half Marathon Training Blog Run 1 of 7:

Day 1:

The big question:  how well have the intervals prepared me for a cardio test like running a long distance?

The big answer:  so far, pretty well!  At least day one.  🙂

We worked on pacing and hills today, and part of the first run included running up Oak Avenue towards the Bald Hill trail head – a brutal uphill even when we are just hiking it.  Using some tips from Mr. EET – I made it without stopping, puking, collapsing or pushing Mr. EET over the edge of the hill!

I’m not saying it wasn’t hard because it was, but it felt good and I was proud of myself for doing it.  A big challenge for me will be learning the pacing to go the full half marathon distance.

Afterwards, I still did my Swedish Interval, (my legs felt tired, but I kept my same count), then ate a fun treat  meal including Ben and Jerry’s ice cream (Everything But The…and Key Lime Pie flavors–see pic above).  Counting on those carbs to help fight any soreness from the run.

Feeling pretty good right now and am looking forward to some longer runs.  They’re not as fun as the interval training, though.

Confidence level that I can finish the half marathon on 7 training runs in addition to my normal interval workouts:  HIGH!

SISTER EET’s TRAINING BLOG RUN 1 of 15

DAY 1

SOME BACKGROUND ABOUT SISTER EET:

Hi, I’m Sister EET, and I’m in the worst shape of my life.

And it’s seven weeks until the half marathon I signed up for months ago in an effort to turn things around. What’s really depressing was that only a year earlier I had been in the best shape of my life.

However, and this is a big HOWEVER, I had only achieved this ideal weight by exercising as much as possible (hour and a half steep trail runs regularly) and eating as little as possible.  Sure, I looked great, but I knew I couldn’t maintain it . I felt like I was one hot fudge sundae away from gaining it all back. And sure enough, when a particularly tough year of real life came around, I gained twenty pounds into completely uncharted territory for me.

Was my body retaliating physically and mentally for feeling overworked and underfed?  Was it concrete evidence how much havoc stress wreaks on your body? Was it a 20-pound tumor? I don’t know (actually, I do know it wasn’t a tumor since my doctor laughed at me when I suggested this), but what I do know is this: I don’t want to lose it again if it isn’t something I can’t maintain. At 46, I’m just not up for it.

This is where EET comes in. Long, grueling runs replaced by only 20 minutes of interval training, food deprivation replaced by eating what you want but just timing it strategically…sounds good to me. I’m not going to worry about food but will continue to dabble in timing my eating. If I lose a pound a week over the next seven weeks, I’ll be very happy. So here we go!

Day 1

We do about 30 minutes of  jogging just to learn how to jog. As a life-long runner, I thought I already knew this. But Mr. EET’s  tips are insightful. Today I learned to treat the race (or any run) like three different races: the uphill part, the downhill part, the straightaways. It all makes perfect sense. Afterwards Mr. EET shows me how to do the circuit training and tabata works. I’ve already tried intervals using my stairmaster and love them!

Leave a Reply

