Dr. Lisa, 40 Loves EET ,Ends Guilt & New Years Resolutions, Reaches Weight Loss Goal, PICS! HOF!

Dr. Lisa, 40, reaches her goal weight after a year and adds EET Hall of Famer to her already impressive credentials.  EET taught this PhD how to end the misery of dieting and lose weight loving food GUILT FREE.  

EET Fitness‘ Metabolic Hall of Fame proudly adds it’s latest member:

Dr. Lisa, PhD!!

Sure Lisa loves the weight loss EET helper her achieve — those last few pounds that seemed impossible to get off.  But what Dr. Lisa really loves about EET is the end of all the guilt  restrictions and needless hours spent killing herself exercising that come along with other diet plans.

We’ve got the lengthy emails discussing EET’s Philosophy of Fun and Guilt Free EETing (we call them dissertations 🙂 ) to prove it! Dr. Lisa was nice enough to write one especially for this blog post, which you’ll find below.

Lisa enjoys her newfound TIME for other New Year’s Resolutions!(click to enlarge)

THE END OF WEIGHT LOSS NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS

Lisa is always finding ways to love her EETing more with less guilt.  She had a great revelation on EET’s Facebook group just a few short days ago — no more need for NEW YEARS RESOLUTIONS!  If you enjoy your diet plan, and you can EET what you love, you’re always on it, so weight loss is no longer a “yo-yo” struggle!

Dr. Lisa has overcome many challenges to reach her weight loss goals using EET, but she was an EET success story way before she reached those goals.  I’m just thrilled that she now has the complete “EET Success Package” that includes:

Stress Free, Guilt Free, Long Term Weight Loss

CONGRATS TO DR. LISA on joining EET’s Hall of Fame and Last 10 Club — no one deserves it more!

Here’s Dr. Lisa’s story UNEDITED (you think Mr. EET would edit a PhD??!!) and thoughts on her EET experience so far:

EET:  Dr. Recommended!!  Dr. Caren Reaves, MD and Dr. Lisa PhD discuss healthy EETing in Dr. Lisa’s Hall of Fame PhotoI believe the conference concluded with the diagnosis they like Whataburger better than Five Guys, right? :-).

“Reaching My Goal Accidentally,”

 or

“A Year on EET– My Space Odyssey”

I am no foreigner to brutal diet and exercise regimes. My whole life, as long as I can remember, I was the “chubby” one. The first time I became aware of what my body looked like, whenever that was in grammar school, I also became aware that my body was apparently unsatisfactory to society at large, so it became unsatisfactory to me as well. I was painfully aware of how much more I weighed than my friends, from junior high through, well, til I was about 30.

The truly sad part is that I now look at pictures of myself as a youngster and all I see is a healthy-looking kid. I was not chubby. I was at the upper end of the healthy weight range. But with the poor image I had developed as a kid, I went into my teenage years with a terrible idea of how I looked, and my life became focused on worrying about every mouthful and every minute of exercise. This, of course, turned me into an emotional eater — in a food-centric, Italian-American family no less. So by the time I graduated high school, I was in fact over weight. At 5’4″, I weighed 145. And that’s with playing varsity tennis, so my life was not wanting as far as exercise goes.

The short version of the following decade is that my weight got up to 165. By severely restricting my caloric intake, swearing off fats and almost everything else I love, and exercising all the time, I got down to 150. That took over a year. Started running 5 miles, 5 times per week plus a “long” run (8-10 miles) on the weekend, in addition to martial arts training for about 6 hours per week. Took two years to get down to 140. I sustained a major injury, of course, with all that. Out of the loop for a year, so without exercise I restricted my calories to 1000/day or less and stayed at 140. Just for the record, my food choices were packed with nutrition: tons of veggies, lean meats, and some grains and fruit. But nothing even remotely enjoyable, fun, or interesting.

Once I could start training again, it took another year to get down to 135 and no matter what else I did, even with the restricted calories I kept up with and an hour of cardio every day, I stayed there. Then I did the first 3 months of Power 90 or whatever it’s called, ate even less, and got down to 130. I was happy but not healthy. I never enjoyed my food. I always saw it as something in the “negative” column that un-did my hard work in the “positive” column. Calories were the enemy. In fact, I thought of meals not in calorie units, but in units of exercise time: two cookies = 10 minutes of jogging, etc. etc.  Did I mention that I had no energy and was depressed all the time? I was thrilled to be at 130 for the first time in my life, and to feel like I was a “normal” weight. I got my self-confidence back but the psychological and emotional toll of struggling so hard to maintain that weight was just enormous.

Nevertheless, I did learn how to eat healthier and get more nutrients per calorie. My health improved, my weight stayed the same, and I let up on exercise. That was the status quo til a few years ago, when I got a new job. My weight dropped to 127 mostly because I was too busy to eat (or so I thought) and I was up in front of a classroom all day. Believe me, that’s exercise for someone with Italian blood. When we talk, there’s lots of hand-waving going on, and walking around, and pacing back and forth as you’re talking. So yes, talking for 8 hours per day, to an Italian, is like running stadium stairs regularly. Then the job got more sedentary, and my weight went up to 135 in less than a year. I was devastated. I hated my body again. I had felt so good, but it seemed that no matter what I did, I couldn’t get the weight to come off. PX90- fail. Veganism- fail. Caloric restriction-fail. Then, to make matters worse, we discovered I have all kinds of food intolerance and chronic fatigue-like disorder. So my eating became even more miserable because my choices were so limited, my exhaustion prevented me from doing anything physical at all, and then….  A friend introduced me to Mr. EET.

I was very excited. I lost 6 pounds in 10 days. I felt good. I was motivated. I did everything according to EET principles. I planned. I did my forecasts. I packaged each day’s meals the night before. I worked around a schedule that involved irregular eating times and lots of time on the road. I did intervals 3 mornings per week and Tabata two evenings per week. I journaled. I photographed for motivation. I wrote inspiring messages on my bathroom mirror with dry-erase markers. I was as gung-ho as they come. And I never got below 129. After three months, I was stuck. I gave up on EET. But Mr. EET never gave up on me. I went back up to 135. I maintained carb watch and maintained my weight. My fatigue and food issues got worse, I had to quit my job, and I became a couch potato. Talk about depressing: a wanna-be and former foodie who can’t lose weight, now can’t eat anything she likes and also can’t exercise because of the fatigue.

A few months ago, we discovered two things: 1) my thyroid function was, well, dysfunctional; and 2) my fatigue is something not entirely unlike a mild form of narcolepsy. So we got me on thyroid meds, and on narcolepsy meds, both of which helped me feel better. And, I imagine, turned my metabolism into the kind of metabolism that EET science is based on. By this point though, as Mr. EET can attest, I became the half-assed EETer I am today. Not only were rules just guidelines, the guidelines themselves were virtually non existent. I kind of watched my carbs. I kind of went for walks on some days. I kind of learned not to look at my food as the enemy. I kind of stretched out my mornings so I would eat my first meal later than usual. Planning, carb-watch, fiber/protein-counting, water-drinking, intervals, Tabata, all that was a thing of the distant past. The only thing I held on to was walking every morning (doctor’s orders) and postponing the first meal of the day as long as possible, timing my walk to be right before whenever that was. Once I’d had that first meal, I’d eat whatever I want, in whatever combination I want, until about an hour before bed, but only because I can’t sleep with food in my stomach.

And guess what. By “half-assing” it, the weight came off. I realized something important — not only does one’s underlying metabolism have to be in the ballpark of normal for EET to work, but postponing breakfast is, for me, the deal breaker. Remember before when I said I got down to 127 because I barely ate? Not entirely true. In retrospect, I never ate BREAKFAST as soon as I got up, which I had always done because of the “breakfast is the most important meal of the day” hype in the media from so many years back. What was in fact happening was that I didn’t have time for breakfast, so I might have had my first meal well past noon. Every day. No exercise, no nada. Pre-EET. For my body, my metabolism, my whatever, that is the key to my weight loss. I never put two and two together until just recently, when I decided to EET again but held on to only two EET ideas: eat late, walk first. And – guess what – within a month I went from 135 to 126. And all the food I eat at night is the food I love. It’s got fat, calories, sugar — whatever I feel like, as long as the foods are not foods that trigger inflammation. So I get all my nutrition, eat yummy stuff, feel great, and fit into my skinny jeans when they come out of the dryer. Best of all, I feel HEALTHY. I feel confident. I don’t feel deprived or guilty, I don’t begrudge food its calories, I know I am getting the nutrition I need, and I am back on track. Completely by accident, and completely within EET’s parameters.

I do what I can do, what works for me, whatever it takes to get results and have fun at the same time, even if that means 99% of EET’s recommendations get thrown out the window — and that is the most fundamental principle of the EET program in my mind.

I’ve been on EET for over a year. Jon has been a stalwart champion of my cause since Day 1. As you can see, I am not cheap with words when I want to say something, and he spent all kinds of time trying to help me make EET work for me — through the dysfunctional thyroid, the inability to get out of bed, the food sensitivities, through thick and thin I could count on him for support. Then I pretty much gave up on all the planning, which I am pretty good at, and decided to pick what I am actually able to do, or in other words, what I actually want to do. Believe me, with all the food restrictions, reduced energy, and other issues going on, I just couldn’t bear having to spend all that time and energy PLANNING and figuring and struggling to be a formulaic EETer. Just like Jon told me to do from the get-go. EET works differently for everyone. For me, it only takes a little to make it work. These last pounds melted off with no effort, faster than they ever have, and all I did was find the single EET concept that my body responds to. I feel great, I eat what I love, I wear skinny jeans, and I have Mr. EET to thank. 

2 thoughts on “Dr. Lisa, 40 Loves EET ,Ends Guilt & New Years Resolutions, Reaches Weight Loss Goal, PICS! HOF!

Leave a Reply

