Struggling with Your Weight Loss / Fitness Plan? Competitive Timing Is Likely Cause

cover art ice cream on side (1)

Could the excitement of competing be your problem when it comes to lasting weight loss and fitness?   It certainly was mine.   EET Competitive Timing (one of the 8 types of EET Timing) will explain why in this excerpt from EET’s new Book, It’s Not what you Eat It’s WHEN You Eat It.

NOTE:  We are ON TRACK to have EET’s book available for download from Amazon TOMORROW!  

8. Competitive Timing

The use of timed competitions to control eating, exercise and activity behaviors

___________________

Dieters commonly depend on regular competitions to lose weight and become more fit.  What happens when they stop competing?  I think you can guess.  Studies are clear that no one stays with these weight loss and fitness challenges for long.  This makes Competitive Timing a recipe for yo-yo dieting and exercise, long-term weight gain, reduced fitness and a horrible relationship with food and exercise.  [10-21]

Competitive Timing might work for serious athletes and bodybuilders while they’re young, but how many of us fit that description?    Not me, though I spent 20 years trying to act like I was, so I’m very familiar with Competitive Timing.  I hope it means something to you that Competitive Timing was the only type of timing Yo-yo Jon tried to control, and now it’s the last and least important type of EET timing to me.    I never rely on it. 

Science may have proven Competitive Timing a failure for lasting results, but many yo-yo dieters still need convincing, so here’s a few examples.   Dieters dread getting on the scale and diabetics often avoid taking their blood sugar when they believe they haven’t “performed well.” Why?  Competitive Timing.   Making “weight or health reading time” a daily competition is a virtual guarantee of yo-yo dieting over the long-term.

Half-marathons and marathons are sold out with waiting lists full of runners hoping to run for hours and risk developing chronic injuries.  This sort of competition is fun?   Months of training to compete in a 2-5 hour jogging race is enjoyable?  For some perhaps, but many weekend warriors enter races believing it will help their weight-loss and fitness efforts. It won’t if you want to reach your goals for 5 years or more. [111]

Same goes for Crossfit, The Biggest Loser, and infomercial workout crazes that challenge you to see how tough you are.  These plans play on our competitive instincts, and the goal is always clear:  Fast weight loss and fitness at all costs.  Most of the programs are designed to have you compete for 90 days or less, certainly not five years or more.  Years of trying these plans hasn’t proven to be the cure for obesity, has it?   On the other hand, I suspect they’ve caused plenty of serious injuries and lots of yo-yo dieting and yo-yo exercise.    Are those the results we’re after? 

Don’t get me wrong, it’s fun to compete occasionally, and I enjoy competing now more than ever, because I only enter for pure enjoyment and never rely on it to help with my weight loss and fitness goals.   I stay out of that trap by relying exclusively on the other seven types of EET Timing.  This approach has produced results for over 5 years that have exceeded my goals.

I no longer need races, “Biggest Loser” diet contests, training partners or the latest workout craze to push me.  Yet, I have not taken one week off exercising for over 5 years, and I don’t plan to.  For me, it would be like taking a week away from TV.   Trust me, I never felt this way about exercise when I relied on competitions to push me.   How can I be so consistent with my EET Plan for years when Yo-Yo Jon could never stay with a plan for months?  You have to eliminate Competitive Timing to find out!  

Excerpt from EET’s new book , It’s Not What You Eat, It’s When You Eat It (c)  EET Fitness, 2014  all rights reserved

 The rest of the Guideline goes on to detail how the other 7 types of EET Timing work.

Tomorrow, you can download and read the entire book, hopefully — and hopefully you’ll want to! 

disclaimer oct 2012

Leave a Reply

